Please Wait...

Living with a Purpose

Living with a Purpose
Item Code: IDE431
Author: S. Radhakrishnan
Publisher: Orient Paperbacks
Language: English
Edition: 2012
ISBN: 9788122200317
Pages: 108
Cover: Paperback
Other Details: 7.8" X 5.2"
weight of book 122 gms


About the Book


Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, (1888-1975) is universally recognized as modern India's greatest philosopher. He was also a statesman of distinction, and even compared to Plato's ideal of the philosopher-king. As a creative thinker and a distinguished interpreter of Indian though he philosophized in the true Indian tradition. His notion of religion was spiritual, and not institutional or denominational.

Born in the pilgrim soil of Tirutani (now in Andhra Pradesh), he imbibed lasting impression of India's Vedic heritage during his formative years. Starting with his first teaching appointment in the Department of Philosophy at Madras Presidency College in 1909, he quickly established his reputation, and in 1921 became George V. Professor of Philosophy in Calcutta University and the Spalding Professor of Eastern Religion and Ethics at Oxford University in 1936. In 1952 he accepted the office of India's first Vice President, and in 1962 assumed the office of the President of India.

He was knighted in 1931 and conferred the Bharat Ratna Award in 1954.


From the Book:


Dr. Radhakrishnan sketches the lives of fourteen individuals who have influenced India's life and culture significantly, and altered the course of its history. Among these are social reformers like Swami Dayanand and Raja Ram Mohan Roy, political thinkers and activists like Lala Lajpat Rai, Sardar Patel, Tilak and Gokhale, and a giant among scientists, Jagdis Bose.

All of them had one thing in common, they broke the barriers of tradition and normalcy, and strove for noble ideals…They dreamt, and had the courage and tenacity to turn their dreams into reality.

'They truly are great who testify to the truth in them and refuse to compromise, whatever the cost…' - Dr. S. Radhakrishnan




Kalidas 9
Guru Nanak 28
Swami Dayanand Saraswati 34
Raja Rammohan Roy 38
Acharya Jagdis Bose 41
Gopal Krishna Gokhale 48
Balgangadhar Tilak 56
Motilal Nehru 59
Lala Lajpat Rai 66
Rabindranath Tagore 69
Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel 90
Dr. Rajendra Prasad 97
Acharya Shri Tulsi 100
Maulana Abul Kalam Azad 105


Sample Pages

Add a review

Your email address will not be published *

For privacy concerns, please view our Privacy Policy

Post a Query

For privacy concerns, please view our Privacy Policy

Related Items