Greatness of Spirit – Profiles of Indian Magsaysay Award Winners

FREE Delivery
(20% off)
Ships in 1-3 days
Item Code: NAC728
Author: Meera Johri
Publisher: Rajpal and Sons
Edition: 2010
ISBN: 8170288606
Pages: 215 (Illustrated In B/W)
Cover: Paperback
Other Details 8.5 Inch X 5.5 Inch
Weight 290 gm
Fully insured
Fully insured
Shipped to 153 countries
Shipped to 153 countries
More than 1M+ customers worldwide
More than 1M+ customers worldwide
100% Made in India
100% Made in India
23 years in business
23 years in business
Back of the Book

The Magsaysay Awards are of ten referred to as Asia’s Nobel Prize. Each year, on August 31 in Manila - the capital of Philippines, six persons or organizations who through their selfless work and sterling leadership qualities have transformed the lives of people in Asia are hundred with this Award. In the last five decades of its existence, more than forty Indian men and women have won this prestigious Award for work as diverse as innovative agricultural techniques, fearless journalism, revival of handicrafts, building economically self-reliant women communities, social activism and contribution to the performing arts. Starting with Vinoba Bhave who received the Award in the very first year of its inception in 1958 this book profiles the inspiring lives and work of all the Indian Magsaysay laureates still date.

From the Book

The Magsaysay Awards were constituted in memory of Ramon Del Fierro Magsaysay who was the President of the Philippines from 1953 to 1957. Magsaysay’s principles and thoughts left an indelible impact not only on his own countrymen but also on the people of the entire world as he exemplified the highest form of leadership characterised by justice, equality and selfless service.

The Magsaysay Awards were first given in 1958 and continue till today. The Magsaysay Awards are bestowed on persons and organisations for their selfless leadership and whose lives and works have made Asia a better place to live in by addressing issues of human development across boundaries of culture, politics and religion with courage and creativity. The Awards are given in six categories: government service; public service; community leadership; journalism, literature and creative communication arts; peace and international understanding and the category, emergent leadership was added in the year 2000. A person working in any part of Asia is eligible for these awards regardless of caste, creed, religion or gender.

It is hoped that reading about the lives and works of the Indians who have been honoured with the Magsaysay Award will inspire young people to apply their talents and energies to selfless and innovative service, preserving the values of integrity, respect for human dignity and principled governance that characterised the work of the late President Ramon Magsaysay.


Magsaysay Credo7
Vinoba Bhave 9
C.D. Deshmukh 14
Amitabha Chowdhury 19
Mother Teresa 24
Verghese Kurien, Tribhuvandas K. Patel and Dara N. Khurody 29
Jayaprakash Narayan 34
Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay 39
Satyajit Ray 45
M.S. Swaminathan 50
M.S. Subbulakshmi 55
B.G. Verghese 59
Sombhu Mitra 63
Ela Ramesh Bhatt 69
R.S. Arole and M.R. Arole 73
Gour Kishore Ghosh 79
Pramod Karan Sethi 84
Chandi Prasad Bhatt 89
Manibhai Desai 94
Arun Shourie 99
R.K. Laxman 104
Murlidhar Devidas Amte 108
Lakshmi Chand Jain 113
K.V. Subbanna 118
Pandit Ravi Shankar 123
Banoo Jehangir Coyaji 127
Kiran Bedi 133
Pandurang Shastri Athavale 138
T.N. Seshan 141
Mahasweta Devi 149
Mahesh Chander Mehta 154
Jockin Arputham 161
Aruna Roy 167
Rajendra Singh 171
Sandeep Pandey 177
James Michael Lyngdoh 182
Shantha Sinha 186
Laxminarayan Ramdas 190
V. Shanta 194
Arvind Kejriwal 198
Palagummi Sainath 203
Praksh Amte and Mandakini Amte 208
Deep Joshi 213
Add a review
Have A Question

For privacy concerns, please view our Privacy Policy