Kalpa Sutra

Item Code: NAB355
Author: K.C. LALWANI
Publisher: Motilal Banarsidass Publishers Pvt. Ltd.
Edition: 1999
ISBN: 8120808568
Pages: 227
Cover: Hardcover
Other Details 8.8" X 5.8"
Fully insured
Fully insured
Shipped to 153 countries
Shipped to 153 countries
More than 1M+ customers worldwide
More than 1M+ customers worldwide
100% Made in India
100% Made in India
23 years in business
23 years in business
About the Book:

Bhadrabahu's Kalpa Sutra is the earliest account of the life of the Tirthankaras, the 24th, 23rd, 22nd, and 1st - since the arrangement of the book moves back in time. The present work should, in fitness of things, occupy a unique position. Scholars have divided this work into three Parts, viz., Tirthankaras, Church Leaders and Parjusana. For the present translation, however, it has been divided into seven Parts as follows: Bhagavan Mahavira, Arhat Parsva, Arhat Aristanemi, Twenty other Tirthankaras, Arhat Rsabha, Church Leaders and Parjusana. Among the Agamic texts, Kalpa Sutra belongs to a group called Cheda Sutras. Going by the contents of these texts, it would appear that they contain rules about personal behaviour and organizational discipline to be observed by the monks. Among the Cheda Sutras, three names usually go together which are Dasakappa-vavahara and they are compiled into one text called Sruta Skandha Kalpa Sutra is the eight chapter of the Dasa text With certain sects of the Jainas, the reading of the Kalpa Sutra during the Parjusana is a must which has contributed to the great spiritual significance of this work.

About the Author:

Professor K.C. Lalwani, a Social Scientist (Economics), was born in 1921. He was an M.A. in first class of the Calcutta University and taught Economics and Commerce in premier Institutions in India. Widely traveled in America and Europe, he had published many books and articles on Economics, Political Science, Religion, etc. He entered a new field of Jainology and published translations of Dasavaikalika, Bhagavati Sutra, etc. He was known for his lucid exposition of the subject.


List of Illustrations


Biographical Sketches of the Jinas:
    I Sramana Bhagavan Mahavira
    II Arhat Parsva
    III Arhat Aristanemi
    IV On Twenty Tirthankaras
    V Arhat Rsabha
    VI List of Senior Monks
    VII Prescription for the Parjusana


Notes and Comments

Add a review
Have A Question

For privacy concerns, please view our Privacy Policy