Please Wait...

Three Indispensable Virtues

Three Indispensable Virtues
Item Code: NAJ344
Author: Shaikh Abdul Qadir Jilani
Publisher: Kitab Bhavan
Language: English
Edition: 2011
ISBN: 9788171513932
Pages: 32
Cover: Paperback
Other Details: 8.5 inch X 5.5 inch
weight of the book: 60 gms



This booklet is mainly emphasized on the vital importance of (1) repentance [tawba], (2) sincere devotion [ikhlas], and (3) the abandonment of hypocritical display [riya’]. To be a good muslim and human being, it is a must for every man and woman to adopt and practice these three vital things so that his/her deeds could be accepted in the sight of Allah and he/she could get the reward in the Aakhira. Levels of sincerity (ikhlas) [in spiritual works] are three: high, medium, and low. High is for a servant to do works for Allah alone, out of obedience to His command and in fulfilment of the rights of his own slave hood. Medium is to do works seeking Allah’s reward or to avoid His punishment. Low is for a servant to do works so that Allah may honour him in this world or protect him from its perils [n: e.g. praying (du’a’) for such a purpose, though if it is a means to achieve something at either of the previous two levels, it takes their ruling-while all are considered sincerity (ikhlasj]. Anything besides these three is showing off (riya’). Basically the repentance is of three levels: tawba, from sins; tawba, from bad character traits; and inaba, from everything besides Allah. The Arabic term riya’ is roughly translated as “showing off,” which means doing something to please others or to gain their approval and admiration, instead of focusing on receiving God’s approval, satisfaction, and pleasure. Riya’ is the opposite of the Arabic term ikhlas [purity of intention]. According to Islam, riya’ could make a pure act of worship, such as prayer, void of any reward and could even result in God’s punishment. Of all the religious observances and acts of worship such as fasting [siyam] in certain months, the offering of animal sacrifice [udhiyya], the performance of ritual prayer [salat], practices of divine remembrance [adhkar], and so on, none will be accepted except after repentance [tawba], purity of heart, sincere devotion [ikhlas] to working for the sake of Allah (Exalted is He), and the abandonment of hypocritical display [riya’] and the effort to gain a reputation [sum’a).








Repentance [Tawba]



Sincere Devotion [Ikhlas]



The Abandonment Of Hypocritical Display [Riya’]



Sample Page

Add a review

Your email address will not be published *

For privacy concerns, please view our Privacy Policy

Post a Query

For privacy concerns, please view our Privacy Policy

Related Items