The Three Systems of Vedanta
Look Inside

The Three Systems of Vedanta

Ships in 1-3 days
Item Code: IDJ220
Author: Swami Harshananda
Publisher: Ramakrishna Math, Bangalore
Language: English
Edition: 2016
ISBN: 9788178837048
Pages: 46
Cover: Paperback
Other Details 7.0 inch X 4.5 inch
Weight 40 gm
23 years in business
23 years in business
Shipped to 153 countries
Shipped to 153 countries
More than 1M+ customers worldwide
More than 1M+ customers worldwide
Fair trade
Fair trade
Fully insured
Fully insured
About the Book

Vedanta is considered to be the epitome of Indian philosophical thought. However, not many are aware that Vedanta comprises of many systems, three being more popular.

The author of this book, Swami Harshananda, a senior monk of the Ramakrishna Order, has succinctly yet effectively given an overview of the main systems of Vedanta thought.


Vedanta is neither recondite nor impractical. If presented properly, studied earnestly and understood with an unsophisticated heart, it can be a source of inspiration here and now. The holistic view of the universe that it offers, with its stress on the Divine permeating or controlling every aspect, can help us to elevate our mind from the microcosm to the macrocosm, from the mundane to the mystic levels.

Though the original source of Vedanta- the prasthanatraya- is one, its interpretations are many. In this booklet, an outline of the three major-rather, more well known-systems is given. A brief summary of four more, has been added at the end as an appendix.

We do hope that this brochure will rouse the curiosity of the reader to study these systems more comprehensively.




  Publisher's Note iii
  Author's Preface iv
  Key to Diacritical Mark and their Pronunciation v
  Preamble 1
  Darsanas 1
  Vedanta Darsana 2
  Advaita Vedanta 3
  Brahman, the only Reality 3
  Anirvacanuya Khyati 4
  Ajnana or Avidya 6
  Maya 6
  Three Degrees of Reality 7
  Creation 8
  Jiva 9
  Sadhanas and Mukti 10
  Jivanamukti and Videhamukti 12
  Locus of Avidya 13
  Post-Sankara Advatia 13
  Conclusion 18
  Introduction 19
  Literature 21
  Visions 44
  Epistemology 22
  Ontology 24
  Means of Liberation 29
  State of Liberation 32
  Conclusion 33
  Introduction 34
  Dvaita literature 35
  Philosophy 36
  Pramanas 36
  Prameyas 38
  Theology 43
  Brahman or God 43
  Laksmi 45
  Jivas or Individual Souls 45
  Prakrit or Nature 47
  Avyakrta-Akasa or Unmodified 49
  Moksa or Liberation 49
  Conclusion 52
  Bhaskara (A.D. 996-1061) 53
  Nimbraka (13th Cent. A.D.) 55
  Vallabha (A.D. 1479-1544) 58
  Baladeva (A.D. 1725) 62
Sample Pages

Add a review
Have A Question

For privacy concerns, please view our Privacy Policy