Filter by Publisher
More Publishers
Filter by Author
More Authors

Dive deeper into the creation of Brahma, The Vedas

According to a well-known myth, the Vedas are the wellspring of Indian philosophy, and insight into the Vedas is extremely important to fully grasp both ancient Indian heritage and Indo-European philology. The Vedas are important sacred texts that date back to ancient India. They are the oldest religious texts still in use and the oldest religious texts in circulation. Hindus cherish Vedic literature today, and their verses are quoted during prayers, religious gatherings, and other significant celebrations. 

Sanatana Dharma ("Eternal Law"), or Hinduism, alludes to this conviction that the wisdom it conveys is eternal. The Samhitas, Brahmanas (prose commentary on sacrificial rites), Aranyakas (discussions and interpretations of perilous rituals), and Upanishads are the four classical divisions of Vedic writings. The four vedic Samhitas are the Rig-Veda, Sama-Veda, Yajur-Veda, and Atharva-Veda. The Sanskrit word for this collection of literature is shruti, which means "the herd." It has been regarded as being imparted wisdom since post-Vedic times, as contrasted to other texts that are collectively referred to as smriti (recalled), – i.e., writings that are assumed to be of human origin.

  • Samhitas: The Samhita are compilations of hymns, petitions, prayers, sacrificial protocols, and litanies penned in rhythmic verse. A Sanskrit term with the meaning "to organize together in togetherness" or "a structured grouping of lines or paragraphs," samhita can be interpreted as either. Sam and hita are derivative words that denote "right" and "appropriate," "ordered," and "wholesome," respectively.

  • Brahmanas: The Samhitas of the Rig, Sama, Yajur, and Atharva Vedas are associated with the Brahmanas, which are Vedic sruti compositions. They are an additional layer or genre of Sanskrit texts that are interwoven within each Veda as well as provide guidelines and explanations for how to perform Vedic ceremonies.

  • Aranyakas: The final section of the Brahmanas, known as the Aranyakas  contains discourses and analyses of perilous rituals that are best studied outside of a civilization, in the wilderness. They are both distinct scriptures and somewhat integrated into the Brahmanas.

  • Upanishads: The Upanishads are primarily interactional works of philosophy. They discuss the spiritual interpretations of the knowledge contained in the Vedic literature and also discuss concepts like creation, theology, and the destiny of the soul. They have been referred to as Vedanta for a long time since they have been seen as the pinnacle and substance of the Vedas. They make up the foundation of the Vedanta school when combined.

Formation of the Vedic Schools

Shakha which means "branch" or "limb," was used to arrange the study of the large body of Vedic works into various schools or branches, each of which had a focus on mastering certain texts. Each of the Vedas has been documented to have multiple revisions, and various schools may be affiliated to each Vedic text. Originally, elaborate preservation techniques relied more on memorization than composing. To aid in the memory process, specific methods (patha) for deciphering and reciting the texts were adopted. The Vedic schools produced interpretive literature, although surprisingly few medieval era commentaries have survived. Sayana, who reigned in the fourteenth century, is notable for his in-depth analyses of the Vedic literature.


Q1. Where are the oldest copies of the Vedas displayed?

The Atharva Veda and the Rig Veda are the two Vedas with the oldest manuscripts, currently on display in India's Bhandarkar Oriental Institute, Pune, Maharashtra.

Q2. How many hymns does the Rigveda have?

The Rig veda contains 1028 hymns.